APPROVED January 22, 2017



UNIVERSITY SENATE

Loyola University Chicago

Minutes of the University Senate

November 18, 2016

Members Present: Laura Baker, Timothy Classen, Lisa Gillespie, Philip Hale, Zelda Harris, Terri Kilbane, Joyce Knight, Ariana Lewis, Anusha Mannam, Harrison Mbugi, Niamh McGuigan, Kim Oosterhouse, Natalie Pine, Adam Roberts, Richelle Rogers, Thomas Sallese, Kim Searcy, Noah Sobe, Maria Udo, Talmadge Wright

Members Absent: Francis Alonzo, Mary Kate Brueck, Pamela Caughie, Don Heider, Peter Jones, Ginny McCarthy, Sergio Ortiz, Stephanie Romero, Don Stemen, Nancy Tuchman, Susan Uprichard

Ex-Officio members Present: John Pelissero, Margaret F. Callahan

I. Welcome and Announcements

The meeting was called to order at 3:05 pm. The chair (N. Sobe) welcomed everyone and established that a quorum was present. He them provided updates on recent Senate resolutions, first noting a Nov 15th letter received from Thomas Kelly regarding Title IX reporting. This letter was shared with the Senate and included information that the research-related exemption from reporting that was requested by the Senate is being implemented. The letter also noted that clarification was being sought by the University from the Office of Civil Rights on several other points. Sobe reported that the forum on employment and justice was well attended and that President Rooney intends to appoint a task force composed of students, faculty and staff to study issues of employment and justice at Loyola. In response to queries regarding faculty diversity Provost Pelissero announced a forthcoming report that will discuss diversity hiring at the university and noted that of 88 new lakeside faculty, 22 are diverse. Sobe will request that leaders of diversity initiatives be invited to the next Senate meeting

II. Adoption of Previous Minutes

T. Wright moved that the minutes of the October 14, 2016 meeting be approved as amended, T. Kilbane seconded and the motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

APPROVED January 22, 2017

III. Loyola as Sanctuary Campus

Members of the Senate discussed support for undocumented and DACA students in light of the changing national political landscape. The Senate heard from members of the university community including faculty who teach on migration, members of the university Dreamer committee, and some DACA students themselves.

Following discussion N. Pine proposed the following motion:

The University Senate applauds Loyola University Chicago's continuing commitment to supporting our undocumented students and recommends that the President take additional appropriate steps necessary to establish the university as a sanctuary campus that safeguards the rights of members of the university community without regard to citizenship or documentation status and addresses concerns about protection from deportation; protection from physical harassment and intimidation; provision of legal assistance and mental health services; maintenance of the MAGIS Scholarship fund; and the prioritization of the security of our most vulnerable members.

The motion was seconded by A. Roberts. After discussion, including a period for public comment, the question was called and the motion passed by a vote of 17 in favor, 0 opposed and 3 abstentions.

IV. Bylaws Revisions

The Senate then resumed discussion of proposed Bylaws revisions that had been introduced at the October Meeting, beginning by taking up the proposed change to amend the composition of the Executive Committee. The following motion from the October meeting was placed on the floor:

Motion to Amend Bylaws Article VI, Section D on Committees as follows: The Executive Committee will be comprised of: Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, Secretary, Secretary pro tempore, an undergraduate Senator selected according to SGLC procedure, the Provost, and the Provost for the Health Sciences Division.

After discussion H. Mbugi proposed to amend the motion to also include a graduate student by adding the phrase "a graduate student Senator selected by the Senate as a whole". The amendment passed by a vote of 10 in favor, 5 opposed with 4 abstentions.

No other amendments were proposed. The question was then called and the Senate voted on the amended motion as follows.

Motion to Amend Bylaws Article VI, Section D on Committees as follows: The Executive Committee will be comprised of: Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, Secretary, Secretary pro tempore, an undergraduate Senator selected according to SGLC procedure, a graduate student Senator selected by the Senate as a whole, the Provost, and the Provost for the Health Sciences Division.

By a vote of 11 in favor, 5 opposed and 3 abstentions the motion failed to achieve the 2/3 majority (20 affirmative votes) of Senate membership required for bylaws revision. For lack of time other bylaws revisions were not discussed but will be discussed at our next Senate meeting.

APPROVED January 22, 2017

The meeting was adjourned at 5:01PM

Respectfully Submitted,

Joyce D. Knight Secretary University Senate